Advisory Committee on Degree Awarding Powers, reporting to the QAA.


Advisory Centre for Education.


Association of Chief Education Officers.


Academies are, in this context, relatively new type of schools which are publicly funded independent schools for pupils of all abilities. They are established by sponsors from faith or voluntary groups and/or businesses, working in partnerships with central Government and local education partners. Their independent status is intended to allow more flexibility and for them to be 'innovative and creative' in their curriculum as well as with regard to staffing and governance, although they must follow the National Curriculum in Mathematics, English, Science and ICT.


Childminders look after children under five and school age children after hours and in the holidays. The local authority decides how many children a childminder can care for, and childminders are able to register as part of a network to provide early education.


The Department for Education and Skills. The national government department with responsibility for education.


Education Authority (Scotland).


Education Assets Board.


Education Action Forum.


Early Excellence Centre.


The register of all educational establishments in England and Wales, maintained by the DfE.


Early Intervention Programme.


Early Literacy Support.


Education and Learning Wales (National Council for Education and Training for Wales).


Education Maintenance Allowance. Also Ethnic Minority Achievement (Officer/tutor etc).


Ethnic Minority Achievement Programme.


Ethnic Minority Achievement Service.


Education Management Information Exchange.


Early Support Pilot Programme.


Flexible school attendance.  Since 2007, legislation in England has allowed for children to be educated partly at home; in practice this might mean a child attending school for four days per week and being home-schooled for one day per week.

Foundation Stage

A Key Stage; it is organised into six areas of learning rather than into subjects.


Foundation Stage; see above.


Foundation Stage Profile.

The General Teaching Council for England. An independent voice for the teaching profession in England, it also registers all teachers in England and maintains professional standards for teaching

Key Skills

Can be distinguished from basic skills by reference to The Dearing Report (NCIHE, 1997).  This refers to four skills: communication skills, numeracy, the use of information technology and learning how to learn.

KS/Key Stages

A child's progress through school in England and Wales is measured in Key Stages.  Each Key Stage covers a number of school years. Starting at Key Stage 1 and finishing at Key Stage 4. The National Curriculum is divided into four key stages according to pupils' ages:

Key Stage 1 for 5-7 year olds

Key Stage 2 for 7-11

Key Stage 3 for years 11-14

Key Stage 4 for 14-16

Some schools use the term 'Key Stage 5' to refer to post-16 provision, but this is not an accurate use of the term, which refers only to the period of compulsory education.


Key Stage Manager.

L1 etc

Leadership (Pay) Scale or Spine, Point 1, etc.


The Office of the Qualifications and Examinations Regulator.  It is a relatively new 'regulator' of qualifications, exams and tests in England.


An official body which regularly inspects all the schools in England which are mainly or wholly state funded. Ofsted inspectors produce education reports which are meant to improve standards of achievement and quality of education, provide public reporting and informed independent advice.  The Office for Standards in Education, Children's Services and Skills is the non-ministerial government department of HMCI.  All the powers belong to HMCI or to Her Majesty's Inspectors of Schools (HMI) who are office holders under the Crown. Ofsted itself has no statutory recognition but is usually identified with the functions of HMCI.  In April 2007 the former Office for Standards in Education merged with the Adult Learning Inspectorate (ALI) to provide an inspection service which includes all post-16 government funded education (but not HE institutions which are inspected by the QAA). At the same time it took on responsibility for the registration and inspection of social care services for children from the Commission for Social Care Inspection (CSCI).

Registered Inspector

An inspector who has qualified to lead a school inspection (not necessarily an HMI).

Special Educational Needs

A term associated with the Warnock report of 1978 which advocated that children with 'special educational needs' be educated within mainstream schools. See SEN.


Qualifications and Curriculum Authority. A government body responsible for the development of the national curriculum in England and the formal assessment of this.


The Teacher Training Agency. A national body set up in 1994 to plan, fund and supervise teacher education and to commission research on teaching.