The National Curriculum framework

Statutory orders

A form of legislative requirement of schools, set by the Secretary Staf and requiring the approval of Parliament. It has the same legal force as an Act of Parliament.

Foundation subjects

Technology, history, geography, music, art, physical education and, in Wales, Welsh.

Programmes of study (PoS)

Everything which the National Curriculum requires must be taught to pupils during each Key Stage for them to satisfy the attainment targets for each subject.

Modification and disapplication

Terms used to lift part or all of the National Curriculum requirements for individuals or schools as approved by the Secretary of State for Education.

Attainment targets (ATs)

Objectives for each subject which set out the knowledge, skills and understanding which pupils are expected to develop with that area of the National Curriculum.

Levels (of attainment)

The expected range of attainment at the end of Key Stage 1 is from Levels 1 - 3, at the end of Key Stage 2 from Levels 2 - 5 and at the end of Key Stage 3 from 3 - 7. Level 8 provides for very able pupils at Key Stage 3. These are the stepped sequence of eight levels used in assessment procedures covering children's expected development from Key Stage 1 to Key Stage 3 of all National Curriculum subjects with the exception of Art, Music and Physical Education. The latter are covered by End of Key Staf Descriptions only and assessment by level is not required.

Level descriptions (LDs)

Descriptions of the knowledge, skill and understanding which is expected to be characteristic of eight levels of attainment for each National Curriculum attainment target. Used for assessment procedures in which teachers judge the `best fit' of level descriptors with known pupil attainments.

End of Key Stage descriptions (EKSDs)

Generated statements, for some subjects only, of the knowledge, skill and understanding which is expected children will acquire by the end of each Key Stage.

Key Stage

The periods in each pupils education to which the National Curriculum applies. The Foundation Stage is from age 3 to age 5 (nursery and reception). For primary aged pupils Key Stage One is from age 5 to age 7 (Year 1, Year 2) and Key Stage Two is from age 7 to age 11 (Year 3, Year 4, Year 5, Year 6).

Religious Education

In each LEA, a multi-faith Standing Advisory Council on Religious Education (SACRE) advises on religious education and collective worship and produces an `agreed syllabus' for the use of schools. This must be `in the main Christian' whilst taking account of other principal religions in the UK .

Curriculum 2000

The most recent version of the national curriculum introduced in 2000.